Turkey Meatloaf Roulade with Spinach and Ricotta

 Veggie Packed Turkey Meatloaf Roulade with Spinach and Ricotta

meatloaf 4

When making my lunches for the week, I try to think of proteins that aren’t going to dry out, like plain ole chicken breast. Ground turkey is great for this, and all the veggies in there keep it nutritious and moist and juicy. Plus, sometimes we have to trick our adult selves to eat more veggies by hiding them in really good food, like our parents did when we were kids.

First, preheat the oven to 400.

meatloaf 1

Dice your veggies. This time I chose red bell peppers, jalapeno, onions, garlic, and zucchini. Would be great to add mushrooms and some spicy peppers too, but was just using whatever I had on hand.

Heat olive oil on saute pan until smokin’ hot.

Saute your veggies to your preferred level of done-ness. I did mine for about 7 minutes on medium-high heat. (In retrospect, I would have sautéed the zucchini separately, and for not as long.)

Once the veggies are cooked, transfer them to a plate and stick in the freezer for a few minutes to cool (so they don’t cook the egg and ground turkey).

meatloaf 2

Once the veggies are cooled, combine with about 1 lb of ground turkey (I used 1.4 lbs), 1/4 cup of panko bread crumbs, and one whole egg. Mix it up real good, use your hands and get messy.

Once mixed, lay a piece of saran wrap on a free space on your counter or kitchen table- I know, easier said than done! Spread the ground beef/veggie mixture atop the saran wrap as evenly as you can.

meatloaf 3

Chop one bag of spinach on a cutting board (these bags of spinach are with the bags of salad in the produce section of your grocery store). In a bowl, combine spinach and 8 oz of ricotta cheese. I did not chop my spinach in the image featured above, and nobody died, however the finished product would have been easier if I had.

meatloaf 4

Spread spinach/ricotta mixture as evenly as you can on top of the ground meat you previously laid out.

meatloaf 5

Roll it up carefully, like a big sushi roll.Mold to create a loaf shaped rectangle.

meatloaf 6

Back in the preheated oven (at 400) for 35-40 minutes, or until the internal temperature reaches 165.

You’ll notice in my finished image above that my meatloaf split while cooking. Boo. Another egg would’ve bound it together more, or I could have rolled it tighter. Either way, it was still SO good. Eating like this doesn’t feel like I’m eating healthy at all.

Ingredients:

1-2 Tbsp olive oil

1 lb ground turkey or ground chicken

1 whole sweet onion

1 whole red pepper

1 whole jalapeno pepper

1 whole zucchini 

(or other vegetables of your choice)

1 whole egg

1/4 C Panko bread crumbs

1 bag of spinach

8 oz ricotta cheese (whole or part skim, I used whole in this recipe, but part skim really cuts the fat, which I tend to eat too much of. I suggest going with part skim, you seriously cannot tell the difference)

2 thoughts on “Turkey Meatloaf Roulade with Spinach and Ricotta

Leave a Reply

