Zucchini “Ravioli” with Ground Turkey, Spinach and Ricotta

Zucchini “Ravioli” with Ground Turkey, Spinach and Ricotta and Homemade Marinara

If you notice a lot of ground turkey in my recent recipes, it’s because I went to Sam’s Club and bought 5 lbs of it. So I’m just finding healthy ways to use it in the way I like to eat.

I saw a picture of this on Pinterest, but there wasn’t much of a recipe to it. It’s sort of a take on ravioli and lasagna at the same time, but substituting the pasta with zucchini, because I made it for my week of lunches.

First, preheat your oven to 400.

zuchinni  7

You can really use whatever vegetables you like to season your ground turkey. I love, love, love caramelized onion so I use that quite often. I also recommend mincing some garlic, as this is a quasi-italian recipe.

Saute your vegetables for a few minutes on medium heat, careful not to burn the garlic. You’re going to add the meat to this pan, so the vegetables will continue to cook. You just want them to sweat a little, and for the onions to get that translucent color.

zuchinni 6

Add the ground beef, and cook on medium-high heat until cooked thoroughly. I used 93% fat-free ground turkey (as that was all Sam’s Club had) so I had to drain the excess fat.

zuchinni 5 zuchinni 4

Once cooked, add a handful of spinach, and cover. Let set for about 2-3 minutes until the spinach has wilted. Remove cover and stir to combine. Repeat this step for your desired amount of spinach. I used one whole bag of spinach (found with the bags of salad mixes in the produce section of the grocery store).

zuchinni 3

Mix the ground beef and spinach mixture with one cup of ricotta cheese. I used part skim ricotta. Ricotta is one of the few cheeses I will use the low-fat version. It cuts the fat significantly and you seriously could not tell the difference.

Zuchinni Ravioli

Using a mandolin if you have one, slice two zucchinis lengthwise to your desired thickness. Mine are pretty thin, but I apologize I do not know the exact dimensions. You will need four slices per each “ravioli.” Make a cross as I have shown above, and lay a spoonful of the ground turkey and ricotta mixture in the center.

zuchinni 1

Fold the zucchini into itself, almost like a little round burrito. In doing this myself, the bigger the zucchini, the better. The shorter slices gave me trouble folding them in.

zuchinni  2

 

marinara

Top with marinara. I made mine homemade by roasted some garlic slices on the stove in a bit of oil, and then adding two cans of crushed tomatoes, 1 tbsp each of oregano, salt, and crushed red pepper.  Then I took two sprigs of fresh basil and let simmer for 15 minutes, then took the sprigs of basil out.

If you like, you can also top with mozzarella cheese prior to placing the dish in the oven. I wish I had done that, but since I was just using what was on hand at the house, I did not have mozzarella so I ended up topping with a bit more ricotta cheese (not pictured). I LOVE ricotta cheese!

Bake in the oven for 20 minutes. If you do top with some mozzarella cheese, cover the dish with foil for the first 10 minutes, then remove and continue baking until the cheese has melted.

Happy Eating!

UPDATE: Ate my first ravioli yesterday at lunch, and it was wonderful! Kept me satisfied until dinner time, but if you need a bit more a side salad would go a long way with this dish.

Ingredients:

2 zucchinis

1 lb ground turkey

1 bag of spinach

2 cloves of garlic

8 oz ricotta cheese

1 jar of marinara sauce, or homemade

Leave a Reply

